Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Institute of Engineering in Life Sciences

Section IV: Biomolecular Separation Engineering

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Model-Based Process Development

Modeling of biomolecular systems offers the possibility to gain a better understanding of protein behavior on molecular and macroscopic levels. Our research is focused on two different approaches. The molecular dynamics simulations (MD) consider protein molecules in their atomic surrounding and enable the deduction of a proteins macroscopic behavior. The mechanistic modeling of chromatography systems considers the purification process on a macroscopic level. Mass transfer and binding effects are described with differential equations. In combination with objective functions, an optimal process design can be achieved. 

Mechanistic Modeling of Chromatography

Modeling

Preparative chromatography is one of the most important technologies for the purification of biologics, e.g. therapeutic proteins. Model-based chromatography process development is the response to Quality-by-Design (QbD) approach required by regulatory authorities such as FDA, EMA, etc. A mechanistic model consists of differential equations of varying complexities, which describe the mass transfer effects and the protein-ligand interaction within a chromatography column. In the last years, the in-house developed software ChromX could be successfully used for model-based process development to purify virus-like particles, monoclonal antibodies and other proteins. The benefits of model-based process development are obvious: up to 95% lab experiments for process optimization, robustness studies, and worst-case analysis can be replaced by computer-aided simulations. From the academic point of view, the gain of mechanistic understanding of the process is a great advantage.

 

ChromX

ChromX is a simulation toolbox for liquid chromatography of proteins. The conceptual goal of ChromX is to be a flexible multi-purpose software package for research while maintaining a high level of user-friendliness. ChromX was originally developed at MAB and is now commercialized by the startup GoSilico GmbH.

 

References

T. Hahn, T. Huuk, A. Osberghaus, K. Doninger, S. Nath, S. Hepbildikler, V. Heuveline, J. Hubbuch, Calibration-free inverse modeling of ion-exchange chromatography in industrial antibody purification, Eng. Life Sci. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/elsc.201400248.

T. Hahn, P. Baumann, T. Huuk, V. Heuveline, J. Hubbuch, UV absorption-based inverse modeling of protein chromatography, Eng. Life Sci. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/elsc.201400247.

T. Huuk, T. Hahn, A. Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch, Model-based integrated optimization and evaluation of a multi-step ion exchange chromatography, Separation and Purification Technology (2014), DOI: 10.1016/j.seppur.2014.09.012.

P. Baumann, T. Hahn, J. Hubbuch, High-throughput Micro-scale Cultivations and Chromatography Modeling: Powerful Tools for Integrated Process Development, Biotechnol. Bioeng. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25630.

C. Ladd Effio, T. Hahn, J. Seiler, S. A. Oelmeier, I. Asen, C. Silberer, L. Villain, J. Hubbuch, Modeling and simulation of anion-exchange membrane chromatography for purification of Sf9 insect cell-derived virus-like particles. J. Chrom. A (2015), DOI: 10.1016/j.chroma.2015.12.006.


Molecular Dynamics Simulations

MD

With increasing computational power, there is a growing interest in molecular dynamics (MD) simulations of biological macromolecules. MD simulations calculate the movement and dynamic of atomic systems on basis of covalent and non-covalent interactions such as the movement of a protein in aqueous solution. MD simulations enable to investigate and to understand experimental observables on an atomic level of detail. The computationally demanding in-silico approach is applied with our research group for the atomic assessment of proteins and peptides and to process related issues such as retention and binding behavior within chromatographic systems or protein phase behavior of.

 

References

F. Dismer, J. Hubbuch, 3D structure-based protein retention prediction for ion-exchange chromatography, J. Chrom. A 1217 (2010), p. 1343-1353.

S. A. Oelmeier, F. Dismer, J.  Hubbuch, Molecular dynamics simulations on aqueous two-phase systems-single PEG-molecules in solution, BMC Biophysics, 5 (2012), p. 1.

K. M .Lang, J. Kittelmann, F. Pilgram, A .Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch,  Custom-tailored adsorbers: A molecular dynamics study on optimal design of ion exchange chromatography material, J. Chrom. A, 1413 (2015), p. 60-67.

K. M. Lang, J. Kittelmann, C. Dürr, A. Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch, A comprehensive molecular dynamics approach to protein retention modeling in ion exchange chromatography, J. Chrom. A, 1381 (2015), p. 184-193.

S. Amrhein, S. A. Oelmeier, F. Dismer, J. Hubbuch, Molecular dynamics simulations approach for the characterization of peptides with respect to hydrophobicity, J. Phys. Chem. B, 118 (2014), p. 1707-1714.

L. Galm, S. Amrhein, J. Hubbuch, Predictive approach for protein aggregation: Correlation of protein surface characteristics and conformational flexibility to protein aggregation propensity, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Biotechnology and bioengineering (2016).


Quantitative Structure Activity Relationship (QSAR)

QSAR

QSAR aims to predict the chemical and biological properties and activities of substances that have not been synthesized yet. This theory is based on the assumption that properties and activities are completely determined by the molecular structure of a protein. The protein structure is characterized by various descriptors, e.g. for shape, size, electrostatics and hydrophobicity. The generated dataset constitutes the basis for the multi-variate data analysis that combines the molecular properties of known compounds expressed through descriptors, and the experimental behavior and thereby creates predictive models. With these models, the activities of new molecules can be predicted.

For the successful generation of a QSAR model it is necessary to adapt the protein structure in silico to the respective process conditions like pH and ionic strength. This structure is used for descriptor calculation using our in-house developed software. With the aid of the final QSAR model process parameters e.g. for chromatography processes can be assessed.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT
Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie

Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik

Teilinstitut IV: Molekulare Aufarbeitung von Bioprodukten

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Modelbasierte Prozessentwicklung

Modellierung biomolekularer Systeme bietet die Möglichkeit, Verhalten von Proteinen auf Molekül- und Prozessebene besser zu verstehen. Wir beschäftigen uns mit zwei unterschiedlichen Ansätzen. Mit der Moleküldynamiksimulation (MD Simulation) können einzelne Proteine in ihrer atomaren Umgebung simuliert und deren Verhalten während diverser Aufreinigungsschritte vorhergesagt werden. Mit der mechanistischen Modellierung chromatographischer Systeme wird der Aufreinigungsprozess makroskopisch betrachtet. Transport, Bindung und Diffusion werden mit Differentialgleichungen beschrieben. Hiermit wird eine optimale Prozessauslegung ermöglicht. 

Mechanistische Chromatographiemodellierung

Estimation

Präparative Chromatographie ist eine der wichtigsten Technologien für die Aufreinigung von Biologics, wie z.B. therapeutischen Proteinen. Die modellbasierte Chromatographie-Prozessentwicklung ist die logische Reaktion auf den Quality-by-Design Ansatz, vorgeschlagen von amtlichen Behörden wie FDA, EMA usw. Ein mechanistisches Modell, bestehend aus Differentialgleichungen unterschiedlicher Komplexität, beschreibt die Stoffübertragung und Adsorptions-/Desorptionsreaktionen innerhalb der Chromatographiesäule. In den letzten Jahren wurde die intern entwickelte Simulationssoftware ChromX für die mechanistische Modellierung erfolgreich eingesetzt, um VLPs, monoklonale Antikörper und andere Proteine aufzureinigen bzw. die Aufreinigung zu optimieren. Durch die modellbasierte Prozessentwicklung können bis zu 95% der Laborversuche für Prozessentwicklung, Robustheitsstudien und Worst-Case-Analysen durch computergestützte Simulationen ersetzt werden. Die dabei gewonnenen mechanistischen Prozessverständnisse sind vom großen akademischen Interesse.

 

ChromX

ChromX ist eine Simulationssoftware für Proteinchromatographie. Sie wurde ursprünglich am MAB entwickelt, wird inzwischen aber durch eine unabhängige Ausgründung weiterentwickelt. Mehr Informationen gibt es unter GoSilico GmbH.

 

Referenzen

T. Hahn, T. Huuk, A. Osberghaus, K. Doninger, S. Nath, S. Hepbildikler, V. Heuveline, J. Hubbuch, Calibration-free inverse modeling of ion-exchange chromatography in industrial antibody purification, Eng. Life Sci. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/elsc.201400248.

T. Hahn, P. Baumann, T. Huuk, V. Heuveline, J. Hubbuch, UV absorption-based inverse modeling of protein chromatography, Eng. Life Sci. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/elsc.201400247.

T. Huuk, T. Hahn, A. Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch, Model-based integrated optimization and evaluation of a multi-step ion exchange chromatography, Separation and Purification Technology (2014), DOI: 10.1016/j.seppur.2014.09.012.

P. Baumann, T. Hahn, J. Hubbuch, High-throughput Micro-scale Cultivations and Chromatography Modeling: Powerful Tools for Integrated Process Development, Biotechnol. Bioeng. (2015), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25630.

C. Ladd Effio, T. Hahn, J. Seiler, S. A. Oelmeier, I. Asen, C. Silberer, L. Villain, J. Hubbuch, Modeling and simulation of anion-exchange membrane chromatography for purification of Sf9 insect cell-derived virus-like particles. J. Chrom. A (2015), DOI: 10.1016/j.chroma.2015.12.006.


Moleküldynamiksimulation

MD

Durch die Entwicklung leistungsstarker Computer mit Parallelarchitektur ist es möglich geworden, die Dynamik molekularer Systeme zu simulieren. Die Moleküldynamiksimulation (MD) von Proteinen bietet vielfältige Möglichkeiten: von der Reduktion des experimentellen Aufwands, über den Zugang zu experimentell schwer zugänglichen Größen bis hin zu einem tieferen Verständnis für das Verhalten komplexer Systeme. Vor allem in der ersten Entwicklungsphase neuer Medikamente können dadurch potentielle Kandidaten eingegrenzt und Ressourcen gespart werden.

Wir verwenden MD um Proteinaufreinigungsprozesse auf molekularer Ebene zu verstehen und die Eigenschaften biomolekularer Systeme zugänglich zu machen. Im Speziellen werden Wechselwirkungskräfte von Proteinen und Adsorberoberflächen sowie Protein-Protein-Interaktionen in wässriger Lösung untersucht. Des Weiteren werden Auswirkungen von Strukturveränderungen, Proteinstabilität in unterschiedlichen Pufferbedingungen sowie Phasen- und Proteineigenschaften, die beispielsweise die Verteilung von Proteinen in wässrigen Zweiphasensystemen bedingen, betrachtet. Durch das zunehmende detaillierte Verständnis können Eigenschaften von Proteinlösungen vorhergesagt und geeignete Prozessbedingungen oder Produktformulierungen in silico ausgewählt werden.

 

Referenzen

F. Dismer, J. Hubbuch, 3D structure-based protein retention prediction for ion-exchange chromatography, J. Chrom. A 1217 (2010), p. 1343-1353.

S. A. Oelmeier, F. Dismer, J.  Hubbuch, Molecular dynamics simulations on aqueous two-phase systems-single PEG-molecules in solution, BMC Biophysics, 5 (2012), p. 1.

K. M .Lang, J. Kittelmann, F. Pilgram, A .Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch,  Custom-tailored adsorbers: A molecular dynamics study on optimal design of ion exchange chromatography material, J. Chrom. A, 1413 (2015), p. 60-67.

K. M. Lang, J. Kittelmann, C. Dürr, A. Osberghaus, J. Hubbuch, A comprehensive molecular dynamics approach to protein retention modeling in ion exchange chromatography, J. Chrom. A, 1381 (2015), p. 184-193.

S. Amrhein, S. A. Oelmeier, F. Dismer, J. Hubbuch, Molecular dynamics simulations approach for the characterization of peptides with respect to hydrophobicity, J. Phys. Chem. B, 118 (2014), p. 1707-1714.

L. Galm, S. Amrhein, J. Hubbuch, Predictive approach for protein aggregation: Correlation of protein surface characteristics and conformational flexibility to protein aggregation propensity, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Biotechnology and bioengineering (2016).


Quantitative Structure Activity Relationship (QSAR)

QSAR

Das Ziel von QSAR ist die Vorhersage von chemischen sowie biologischen Eigenschaften und Aktivitäten noch nicht synthetisierter Substanzen. Dieser Theorie liegt die Annahme zugrunde, dass Eigenschaften und Aktivitäten komplett durch die molekulare Struktur eines Proteins bestimmt werden. Diese wird durch verschiedene Deskriptoren, wie beispielsweise Form, Größe, Elektrostatik und Hydrophobizität beschrieben. Diese Daten bilden den Ausgangspunkt der multivariaten Datenanalyse, welche molekulare Eigenschaften bekannter Strukturen auf Basis geeigneter Deskriptoren und deren experimentelles Verhalten in Zusammenhang bringt und dabei prädiktive Modelle erstellt, mit denen die Eigenschaften und Aktivitäten für neue Moleküle vorhergesagt werden können.

Für die erfolgreiche Erstellung eines QSAR-Modells ist es notwendig, die Proteinstruktur in silico auf die gegebenen Prozessbedingungen, bezüglich pH-Wert und Ionenstäke, anzupassen. Diese Struktur bildet die Grundlage für die Kalkulation der verschiedenen Deskriptoren mittels institutseigener Software. Mit Hilfe des fertigen QSAR-Modells können anschließend Aussagen über Prozessparameter wie z.B. für Chromatographieprozesse getroffen werden.