Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Institute of Engineering in Life Sciences

Section IV: Biomolecular Separation Engineering

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Bioprinting and Lab Prototyping

Printing

For development and optimization of process steps as well as whole processes, it is important to minimize the time for implementation of new ideas. At MAB, rapid prototyping techniques are used, which allow a fast workflow from ideas to ready-for-use prototypes. We rely on multiple 3D printers (FDM and SLA) for rapid prototyping. The devices open up new ways in high throughput process development.

For biological applications, a 3D Bioscaffolder is employed which allows printing of high viscous materials and biomolecules on technical substrates.

 

More...


Characterization of Protein Solutions

Protein Characterization

The accurate characterization of protein solutions is indispensable for an optimal process design and formulation development. Here, the solubility of the target molecules and the long term stability of biopharmaceuticals are regarded as a bottleneck in the biopharmaceutical development. Therefore, our scientific group focuses on the analysis off protein-protein interactions, the resulting protein phase behavior, the predictability of protein phase behavior and its manipulation. We study model proteins, pharmaceutical relevant molecules like monoclonal antibodies, different classes of enzymes as well as virus like particles under ideal dilute and highly concentrated conditions.

 

More...


Experimental Process Development

 HTPD

The biopharmaceutical production industry is based on a vast number of complex process setups which all rely high experimental effort. A high amount of process knowledge and optimization helps meeting the requirements stated by the authorities such as the FDA, EMA, etc. High-throughput methodologies have become a central tool in experimental process development. Using high-throughput systems (HTS) including automated robotic platforms, development times and manufacturing costs can be reduced to a minimum due to miniaturization, parallelization and automation of experiments. In our institute HTS methods are used in cell cultivation and product formation studies (upstream processing) as well as downstream application (protein purification). Robotic screenings in high-throughput format include precipitation screenings, characterization experiments for aqueous two-phase systems, as well as chromatography in batch and column mode.

 

More


Model-Based Process Development

MD

Modeling of biomolecular systems offers the possibility to gain a better understanding of protein behavior on molecular and macroscopic levels. Our research is focused on two different approaches. The molecular dynamics simulations (MD) consider protein molecules in their atomic surrounding and enable the deduction of a proteins macroscopic behavior. The mechanistic modeling of chromatography systems considers the purification process on a macroscopic level. Mass transfer and binding effects are described with differential equations. In combination with objective functions, an optimal process design can be achieved. 

 

More...


Process Control

Process Control

During production of biopharmaceuticals efficient process monitoring and control is central for an economic and reliable process. MAB is working on innovative new technologies for monitoring purification processes. A focus is set towards monitoring processes by spectroscopic methods in conjunction with chemometrics.

 

More...

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT
Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie

Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik

Teilinstitut IV: Molekulare Aufarbeitung von Bioprodukten

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Bioprinting und Labor Prototyping

Printing

Bei der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Prozessen und Prozessschritten ist es wichtig schnell und einfach neue Ideen um- und einsetzen zu können. Hierfür können Rapid Prototyping Techniken eingesetzt werden, die es erlauben, vom Entwurf bis zum einsatzbereiten Prototypen in wenigen Stunden zu gelangen. In der Arbeitsgruppe Hubbuch stehen hierfür verschiedene 3D Drucker (FDM und Stereolithography) zur Verfügung. Diese eröffnen eine neue Dimension in der Hochdurchsatz-Prozessentwicklung.

Darüber hinaus ist ein sogenannter 3D-Bioscaffolder im Einsatz, der es ermöglicht sowohl hochviskose Materialien als auch Biomoleküle auf technische Oberflächen zu drucken.

 

Mehr...


Charakterisierung von Proteinlösungen

Protein Charakterisierung

Die genaue Charakterisierung von Proteinlösungen ist für eine optimale Prozessauslegung sowie Formulierungsentwicklung unabdingbar.  Ein kritischer Parameter in der Entwicklung von Biopharmazeutika ist die Löslichkeit des Moleküls während des Prozesses und die Langzeitstabilität der pharmazeutischen Formulierung. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich deshalb intensiv mit der Untersuchung von Protein-Protein Wechselwirkungen, dem daraus resultierenden Phasenverhalten, der Vorhersagbarkeit des Phasenverhaltens und dessen Manipulation. Untersucht werden Modellproteine, pharmazeutisch relevante Moleküle wie beispielsweise Antikörper, unterschiedliche Enzymklassen, sowie Viren und virenähnliche Moleküle in ideal verdünnter Lösung sowie in hochkonzentrierten Formulierungen.

 

Mehr...


Experimentelle Prozessentwicklung

Die biopharmazeutische Produktion basiert auf einer Vielzahl komplexer Prozesse mit hohem experimentellem Aufwand. Um den Regularien der Behörden (EMA, FDA, usw.) gerecht zu werden ist ein hohes Maß an Prozessverständnis und Optimierung erforderlich. Im Bereich der experimentellen Prozessentwicklung sind insbesondere Hochdurchsatzmethoden ein immer stärker werdendes Forschungsgebiet. Durch High-throughput Systeme (HTS) unter Verwendung von Pipettierrobotern können Entwicklungszeiten und Arbeitskosten durch Miniaturisierung, Parallelisierung und Automatisierung stark reduziert werden. Am Lehrstuhl werden HTS Methoden im Bereich der Produktbildung und mikrobiellen Zellkultivierung (Upstream Processing) als auch im Bereich der Aufarbeitung (Downstream Processing) verwendet. Beispiele für roboterbasierte Aufreinigungsverfahren beinhalten Präzipitationsscreenings, Charakterisierung wässriger Zweiphasensysteme sowie Chromatographie im Batch und Säulen Betrieb.

 

Mehr...


Modellbasierte Prozessentwicklung

no pic

Modellierung biomolekularer Systeme bietet die Möglichkeit, Verhalten von Proteinen auf Molekül- und Prozessebene besser zu verstehen. Wir beschäftigen uns mit zwei unterschiedlichen Ansätzen. Mit der Moleküldynamiksimulation (MD Simulation) können einzelne Proteine in ihrer atomaren Umgebung simuliert und deren Verhalten während diverser Aufreinigungsschritte vorhergesagt werden. Mit der mechanistischen Modellierung chromatographischer Systeme wird der Aufreinigungsprozess makroskopisch betrachtet. Transport, Bindung und Diffusion werden mit Differentialgleichungen beschrieben. Hiermit wird eine optimale Prozessauslegung ermöglicht.

 

Mehr...


Prozesskontrolle

Process Control

In der Produktion von therapeutischen Proteinen ist eine effiziente Prozessüberwachung  für einen ökonomischen Prozess entscheidend. Die Gruppe Molekulare Aufarbeitung von Bioprodukten befasst sich mit dem Einsatz chemometrischer Methoden für die Überwachung von chromatographischen Prozessen zur Proteinaufreinigung. Wir forschen auf den Gebieten der Echtzeitprozessüberwachung mittels Spektroskopie, Echtzeitprozesskontrolle und der rückwirkenden Fehleranalyse.

 

Mehr...