Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Institute of Engineering in Life Sciences

Section IV: Biomolecular Separation Engineering

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Protein Interaction Engineering

Protein Characterization

The accurate characterization of protein solutions is indispensable for an optimal process design and formulation development. Here, the solubility of the target molecules and the long term stability of biopharmaceuticals are regarded as a bottleneck in the biopharmaceutical development. Therefore, our scientific group focuses on the analysis off protein-protein interactions, the resulting protein phase behavior, the predictability of protein phase behavior and its manipulation. We study model proteins, pharmaceutical relevant molecules like monoclonal antibodies, different classes of enzymes as well as virus like particles under ideal dilute and highly concentrated conditions.


Protein Phase Behavior

Protein Phase Behavior

For the pharmaceutical industry, the stability of biologically active components during processing, formulation and storage is of crucial importance in order to ensure patient safety and product activity. An important stability criterion is the phase behavior of the target molecule. It can be distinguished between the soluble, crystalline and precipitated phase state as well as gel formation. Controlled crystallization and precipitation offer the biopharmaceutical industry a cost effective alternative to conventional separation methods and are acknowledged for formulation purposes. However, undesired aggregation may lead to product loss and changes in the three-dimensional structure of the target molecule. Therefore, knowledge of protein phase behavior is essential for downstream process design.

At our institute, a screening method to generate phase diagrams in high throughput on an automated liquid handling station in microbatch scale was developed. Using a high resolution camera, the generated phase diagrams are evaluated regarding their phase behavior. Using this method, the influence of various process parameters, such as type and concentration of salts or polymers, pH or temperature for various biologically active components can be examined.

 

Literature

N. Rakel, M. Baum, J. Hubbuch, Moving through threedimensional phase diagrams of monoclonal antibodies, Biotechnology progress (2014), DOI: 10.1002/btpr.1947.

K. Baumgartner, L. Galm, J. Nötzold, H. Sigloch, J. Morgenstern, K. Schleining, S. Suhm, S. A. Oelmeier, J. Hubbuch, Determination of protein phase diagrams by microbatch experiments: Exploring the influence of precipitants and pH, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2014), DOI: 10.1016/j.ijpharm.2014.12.027.


Influence of Additives on Protein Phase Behavior

Additives

Protein therapeutics exhibit their highest biological activity in the native state. Thus, it is essential to ensure that the target protein remains in its native conformation during production, formulation and storage. One possibility for the stabilization of the native state is the addition of additives. Frequently used additives are polymers (e.g. polyethylene glycol) and osmolytes. Osmolytes are low molecular weight additives, which can be grouped in the main categories of free amino acids and derivatives (e.g. glycine), polyols and uncharged sugar (e.g. glycerol), methylamines and urea. At our institute automated screening are carried out to investigate the effect of additives on proteins. Thereby the influence of the additives on the secondary structure of the proteins, on the unfolding behavior of the proteins under thermal stress as well as the protein phase behavior is examined.

 

Literature

L. Galm, J. Morgenstern, J. Hubbuch, Manipulation of lysozyme phase behavior by additives as function of conformational stability, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2015), DOI: 10.1016/j.ijpharm.2015.08.045.


Protein Conjugation

The term protein conjugation describes the insertion of non-proteinogenic groups into protein molecules, which are not present in the wild type. The aim of this process is the production of molecules with unique properties derived from both the biological component and the synthetic material.
The covalent attachment of synthetic polymers to pharmaceutical proteins is a promising approach to alter physical properties such as thermal stability, solubility, tolerance to organic solvents and proteases and thus to achieve an increase in protein yield during production, formulation and storage. Furthermore, physiological properties like the half-life in circulation and the immune tolerance can be improved. The most common polymer modification in the pharmaceutical industry is the covalent attachment of polyethylene glycol (PEG) to the target molecule (PEGylation). In addition to PEGylation, alternative polymers as modifier for proteins are examined at our institute.

Also in the development of anti-cancer drugs the potential of protein conjugates is made use of. In this case, biologically active cytotoxic drugs are coupled to monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) via a covalent linker. This way the specificity of the mAbs for antigens expressed on the cancer cells enables the targeted delivery of the cytotoxic payload mitigating the systemic effect of the drug. 

Rheology

Auswirkung auf das Fließverhalten durch steigende Viskosität
Effects of increasing viscosity on liquid flow.
Rheology
Illustration of complex rheology.

With rheological measurements we study the flow characteristics of biopharmaceutical solutions. Rheological measurements provide information on solution inner structure as well as implicit flow characteristics. A great advantage of these measurements is that their measurement accuracy is independent of the target molecule concentration and varying solution conditions. So that this analytical method is also suitable for highly concentrated dosage forms.

 

Viscosity

Increasing Upstream Processing and formulation titers result in a significant increase of solution viscosity. Downstream and formulation scientists have to face the challenge to evaluate and minimize the resulting alterations in processability, production and administration. Our group is working on the better characterization of parameters which influence the viscosity of protein solutions and based on this knowledge the specific manipulation of solution viscosity e.g. by the addition of additives or protein conjugation. We are able to determine the dynamic viscosity with the help of dynamic light scattering (Zetasizer Nano, Malvern) and with a mechanical rheometer (MCR 301, Anton Paar).

 

Complex Rheology

Protein solutions are complex in structure, form macromolecular networks in crowded solutions and show viscoelastic behavior. That implies that the material exhibits both viscous and elastic characteristics when undergoing deformation. The characteristics are represented by the measurable parameters G’ (storage modulus) and G’’ (loss modulus). G’ describes the elastic component of the measured sample, G’’ the viscous component of the probe. G’ and G’’ are measured over the radial frequency ω for the characterization of given protein samples. The parameters show a characteristic curve shape that is shifted along the x-axes with changing molecular weight or the formation of intermolecular scaffolds of the tested material. We could demonstrate that the crossover-point-frequency (ωCO) of G’ and G’’ is sensitive concerning solution conditions which influence the protein long term stability. Furthermore we could directly correlate the ωCO values of given samples with the studied protein phase behavior. The frequency sweep measurements are conducted on a High Frequency Rheometer. Currently we are also working on the establishment of the microrheological technique in our lab.

 

Literature

M.-T. Schermeyer, H. Sigloch, K. Bauer, J. Hubbuch, Squeeze flow rheometry as a novel tool for the characterization of highly concentrated protein solutions, Biotechnology and Bioengineering (2015), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25834.

K. C. Bauer, M.-T. Schermeyer, J. Seidel, J. Hubbuch, Impact of polymer surface characteristics on the microrheological measurement quality of protein solutions - a tracer particle screening, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2016), accepted.


Analytics of Molecular Properties

Analytik molekularer Eigenschaften

One aim of our scientific group is to characterize protein solutions, so that one can predict the solution stability and thereby be able to directly manipulate the protein solution towards a better long term stability or targeted phase transition. For the specific characterization of these complex solutions the knowledge about the molecular properties is indispensable. One important component is the study of protein mobility hence the determination of the protein diffusion coefficient. The diffusion of proteins reflects their interactions in solution. This approach allows the correlation with the stability and viscosity of a protein sample by dynamic light scattering measurements. It is suitable for the investigation of dilute as well as concentrated protein solutions.

Protein-protein interactions strongly depend on the protein surface characteristics, like surface charge and surface hydrophobicity. In comparison to the extensively studied impact of the surface charge on the colloidal and conformational stability, the impact of the surface hydrophobicity is studied unsatisfactorily. Our group has developed a method to determine a hydrophobicity index of the protein surface by the measurement of the surface tension in an automated microscale format. To define the influence of the given hydrophobicity and to correlate the diffusion coefficient with the conformational and colloidal stability of a protein solution, we perform temperature dependent stability tests besides to long term stability experiments (see protein phase behavior). With the help of fluorescence and static light scattering measurements protein unfolding and agglomeration can be determined. The high throughput measurements are realized with temperature ramps on the UnIt system (Unchained Labs). The parameters of interest are the agglomeration temperature (Tagg) and the melting temperature (Tm).

 

Literature

 

N. Rakel, K.C. Bauer, L. Galm, J. Hubbuch, From Osmotic Second Virial Coefficient (B22) to Phase Behavior of a Monoclonal Antibody, Biotechnology Process (2015), DOI: 10.1002/btpr.2065.

L. Galm, S. Amrhein, J. Hubbuch, Predictive approach for protein aggregation: Correlation of protein surface characteristics and conformational flexibility to protein aggregation propensity, Biotechnology and Bioengineering (2016), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25949.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT
Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie

Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik

Teilinstitut IV: Molekulare Aufarbeitung von Bioprodukten

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel: +49 721 608 42557
Fax: +49 721 608 46240

Mail

Charakterisierung von Proteinlösungen

Protein Characterization

Die genaue Charakterisierung von Proteinlösungen ist für eine optimale Prozessauslegung sowie Formulierungsentwicklung unabdingbar.  Ein kritischer Parameter in der Entwicklung von Biopharmazeutika ist die Löslichkeit des Moleküls während des Prozesses und die Langzeitstabilität der pharmazeutischen Formulierung. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich deshalb intensiv mit der Untersuchung von Protein-Protein Wechselwirkungen, dem daraus resultierenden Phasenverhalten, der Vorhersagbarkeit des Phasenverhaltens und dessen Manipulation. Untersucht werden Modellproteine, pharmazeutisch relevante Moleküle wie beispielsweise Antikörper, unterschiedliche Enzymklassen, sowie Viren und virenähnliche Moleküle in ideal verdünnter Lösung sowie in hochkonzentrierten Formulierungen.


Proteinphasenverhalten

Proteinphasenverhalten

Für die biopharmazeutische Industrie ist die Stabilität der biologisch aktiven Komponenten während der Verarbeitung, Formulierung und Lagerung von maßgeblicher Bedeutung, um die Patientensicherheit und Produktaktivität zu gewährleisten. Ein wichtiger Stabilitätsaspekt ist hierbei das Phasenverhalten des Zielmoleküls. Es kann zwischen dem löslichen, dem gelierten, dem kristallinen und dem ausgefällten Phasenzustand unterschieden werden. Kontrollierte Kristallisation und Fällung bieten der biopharmazeutischen Industrie eine kostengünstige Alternative zu herkömmlichen Trennverfahren und sind für Formulierungszwecke anerkannt. Unerwünschte Aggregation kann hingegen zu Produktverlusten und Veränderungen der dreidimensionalen Struktur des Zielmoleküls führen. Daher ist Wissen über das Phasenverhalten von Proteinen für die Downstream-Prozessentwicklung unabdingbar.
An unserem Institut wurde aus diesem Grund ein Hochdurchsatz-Verfahren entwickelt, was es erlaubt, Phasendiagramme auf einer automatisierten Liquid-Handling-Station im Mikroliter-Maßstab zu generieren. Unter Verwendung einer hochauflösenden Kamera werden die erzeugten Phasendiagramme über einen langen Zeitraum hinsichtlich ihres Phasenverhalten ausgewertet. Mit Hilfe dieser Methode kann der Einfluss verschiedener Prozessparameter, wie Art und Konzentration von Salzen oder Polymere, pH-Wert oder der Temperatur für verschiedene biologisch aktive Komponenten untersucht werden.

 

Literatur

N. Rakel, M. Baum, J. Hubbuch, Moving through threedimensional phase diagrams of monoclonal antibodies, Biotechnology progress (2014), DOI: 10.1002/btpr.1947.

K. Baumgartner, L. Galm, J. Nötzold, H. Sigloch, J. Morgenstern, K. Schleining, S. Suhm, S. A. Oelmeier, J. Hubbuch, Determination of protein phase diagrams by microbatch experiments: Exploring the influence of precipitants and pH, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2014), DOI: 10.1016/j.ijpharm.2014.12.027.


Additiveinfluss auf Proteinphasenverhalten

Additiveinfluss

Therapeutische Proteine zeigen im nativen Zustand ihre höchste biologische Aktivität. Somit ist es wichtig sicherzustellen, dass das Zielprotein in der Herstellung, Formulierung und Lagerung seine native Konformation beibehält. Eine Möglichkeit zur Stabilisierung des nativen Zustandes bietet der Zusatz von Additiven. Häufig verwendete Additive sind Polymere (beispielsweise Polyethylenglykol) und Osmolyte. Osmolyte sind niedermolekulare Additive, die in die Hauptkategorien freie Aminosäuren und Derivate (z.B. Glycin), Polyole und ungeladene Zucker (z.B. Glycerin), Methylamine und Harnstoff gruppiert werden können. Um den Einfluss der Additive auf Proteine untersuchen zu können, werden an unserem Institut automatisierte Screenings durchgeführt. Dabei wird der Einfluss der Additive auf die Sekundärstruktur der Proteine, das  Entfaltungsverhalten der Proteine unter thermischem Stress sowie das Proteinphasenverhalten untersucht.

 

Literatur

L. Galm, J. Morgenstern, J. Hubbuch, Manipulation of lysozyme phase behavior by additives as function of conformational stability, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2015), DOI: 10.1016/j.ijpharm.2015.08.045.


Proteinkonjugation

Der Begriff Proteinkonjugation beschreibt die Bindung von nicht-proteinogenen Gruppen an Proteinmoleküle, welche im Wildtyp nicht vorhanden sind. Das Ziel dieses Verfahrens ist die Herstellung von Molekülen mit einzigartigen Eigenschaften, die sich sowohl von der biologischen Komponente als auch vom synthetischen Material ableiten.

Die kovalente Bindung von synthetischen Polymeren an pharmazeutische Proteine ist ein vielversprechender Ansatz, physikalische Eigenschaften wie die thermischen Stabilität, die Löslichkeit, die Toleranz gegenüber organischen Lösungsmitteln und Proteasen zu erhöhen und somit eine Steigerung der Proteinausbeute während der Herstellung, Formulierung und Lagerung zu erreichen. Weiterhin können physiologische Eigenschaften wie die Halbwertszeit im Körper und die Immunverträglichkeit verbessert werden. Die häufigste Polymermodifizierung in der pharmazeutischen Industrie ist die kovalente Bindung von Polyethylenglykol (PEG) an das Zielmolekül (PEGylierung). Neben der PEGylierung werden an unserem Institut auch alternative Polymere für die Proteinkonjugation untersucht.

Auch bei der Entwicklung von Medikamenten gegen Krebs wird auf das Potential von konjugierten Proteinen ​gesetzt. In diesem Fall werden biologisch aktive, zytotoxische Medikamente über einen kovalenten Linker an monoklonale Antikörper (mAbs) gekoppelt. Die hohe Spezifität des Antikörpers ermöglicht einen gezielten Transport des Wirkstoffs zu den Krebszellen und schwächt so den systemischen Effekt des Medikaments.
Bei der Entwicklung von neuen Proteinkonjugaten stellt die Komplexität der Systeme sowohl für die Analytik als auch für die Aufreinigung eine große Herausforderung dar. Daher liegt der Schwerpunkt unserer Forschung auf der Prozessentwicklung und -optimierung für Konjugation, Analytik und Trennverfahren von Proteinkonjugaten.

Rheologie

Auswirkung auf das Fließverhalten durch steigende Viskosität
Auswirkung auf das Fließverhalten durch steigende Viskosität.
Komplexe Rheologie
Illustration von komplexer Rheologie.

Mit rheologischen Messungen studieren wir die Fließeigenschaften von biopharmazeutischen Lösungen. Mit Hilfe rheologischer Parameter können Informationen über Lösungsstruktur und implizite Fließcharakteristika des zu untersuchenden Proteins gewonnen werden. Ein großer Vorteil dieser Messungen besteht darin, dass die Messgenauigkeit unabhängig von der Zielmolekülkonzentration und variierenden Umgebungsbedingungen ist. Damit ist diese analytische Methode auch für hochkonzentrierte Proteinlösungen geeignet.

 

Viskosität

Steigende Titer im Upstream und immer höhere Proteinkonzentrationen in der Formulierung erhöhen signifikant die Viskosität der zu verarbeitenden Lösung. Aufreinigungs- und Formulierungswissenschaftler stehen vor der schwierigen Aufgabe dadurch verursachte Veränderungen in der Verarbeitung, Produktion und Verabreichung einzuschätzen und zu minimieren. Unser Lehrstuhl arbeitet an der Charakterisierung der Viskositäts- Einflussparameter und aufbauend darauf an der gezielten Manipulation von Lösungsviskositäten beispielsweise durch Zugabe von Additiven oder Proteinkonjugaten. Die dynamische Viskosität wird in unserem Labor mit Hilfe der dynamischer Lichtstreuung (Zetasizer Nano, Malvern) oder einem mechanischen Rheometer (MCR301, Anton Paar).

 

Komplexe Rheologie

Proteinlösungen besitzen eine komplexe Struktur, bilden makromolekulare Netzwerke unter hochkonzentrierten Bedingungen und verhalten sich viskoelastisch. Das bedeutet, dass Proteinlösungen viskose sowie elastische Eigenschaften besitzen wenn sie deformiert werden. Diese Charakteristika können durch die messbaren Parameter G’ (Speichermodul) und G’’ (Verlustmodul) beschrieben werden. G’ beschreibt hierbei die elastische Komponente der Probe und G’’, den viskosen Anteil der Probe. Für die rheologische Charakterisierung einer Proteinprobe werden G’ und G’’ über einen Frequenzgradienten (über die Kreisfrequenz ω) bestimmt. Einer so genannten Frequency Sweep Messung. Die Parameter G’ und G’’ weisen einen charakteristischen Kurvenverlauf auf welcher mit sich ändernder Molekülgröße und der Bildung von intermolekularen Netzwerken entlang der x-Achse (ω) verschoben wird. Wir konnten zeigen, dass der Frequenzwert des Schnittpunkten von G’ and G’’, ωCO sensitive gegenüber Lösungsbedingungen ist, welche die Langzeitstabilität von Proteinlösungen beeinflussen. Darüber hinaus konnten wir den ωCO  Wert direkt mit dem Phasenverhalten der gemessenen Probe korrelieren. Die Frequency Sweep Messungen werden an einem Hochfrequenzrheometer durchgeführt. Zurzeit arbeiten wir außerdem an der Etablierung der Mikrorheologie.

 

Literatur

M.-T. Schermeyer, H. Sigloch, K. Bauer, J. Hubbuch, Squeeze flow rheometry as a novel tool for the characterization of highly concentrated protein solutions, Biotechnology and Bioengineering (2015), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25834.

K. C. Bauer, M.-T. Schermeyer, J. Seidel, J. Hubbuch, Impact of polymer surface characteristics on the microrheological measurement quality of protein solutions - a tracer particle screening, International Journal of Pharmaceutics (2016), accepted.


Analytik molekularer Eigenschaften

Analytik molekularer Eigenschaften

Ein Ziel unserer Arbeitsgruppe ist es, Proteinlösungen dahingehend zu charakterisieren, dass eine Vorhersagbarkeit der Lösungsstabilität und damit eine gezielte Manipulation der Proteinlösung möglich wird. Für die genaue Charakterisierung einer Proteinlösung ist das Wissen über die molekularen Eigenschaften unabdingbar.

Ein wichtiger Baustein hierfür ist die Studie der Proteinmobilität niedrig und hochkonzentrierter Lösungen. Maßgebender Parameter hierbei ist der spezifische Diffusionskoeffizient. Die Diffusion von Proteinen spiegelt ihre Wechselwirkungen in Lösung wieder. Mithilfe dieser Methode lassen sich durch dynamische Lichtstreuungsmessungen Zusammenhänge zur Stabilität und Viskosität von Proteinproben herstellen. Sie ist sowohl für die Untersuchung verdünnter als auch hochkonzentrierter Lösungen geeignet.

Protein-Protein Interaktionen sind stark von der Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, wie Oberflächenladung und Hydrophobizität abhängig. Im Gegenteil von dem ausführlich untersuchten Einfluss der Oberflächenladung auf die kolloidale und konformale Stabilität eines Moleküls ist der Einfluss der Oberflächenhydrophobizität noch nicht zufriedengehend untersucht. Die Oberflächenhydrophobizität von Proteinen bestimmt maßgeblich die Protein-Solvent Interaktion und dominiert damit kolloidale sowie strukturelle Stabilität des Proteins in Lösung. Die Protein-Solvent Interaktion über die Oberflächenspannung messtechnisch greifbar und wird zur Messung der Proteinoberflächenhydrophobizität als nicht-invasive Methode verwendet.

Um den Einfluss der Hydrophobizität und die Korrelation des Diffusionskoeffizienten mit der angesprochenen konformalen und kolloidalen Stabilität der Proteinlösung definieren zu können, werden neben Langzeitversuchen (siehe Protein Phasenverhalten) auch temperaturabhängige Stabilitätsparameter bestimmt. Mit Hilfe von Fluoreszenzmessungen und statischer Lichtstreuung können Entfaltung und Agglomeration des Proteins ermittelt werden. Realisiert werden diese High Throughput Messungen mit Hilfe einer Temperaturrampe amUnIt (Unchained Labs). Verglichen werden dann Agglomerations- und Schmelztemaperatur des zu untersuchenden Moleküls.

 

Literatur

N. Rakel, K.C. Bauer, L. Galm, J. Hubbuch, From Osmotic Second Virial Coefficient (B22) to Phase Behavior of a Monoclonal Antibody, Biotechnology Process (2015), DOI: 10.1002/btpr.2065.

L. Galm, S. Amrhein, J. Hubbuch, Predictive approach for protein aggregation: Correlation of protein surface characteristics and conformational flexibility to protein aggregation propensity, Biotechnology and Bioengineering (2016), DOI: 10.1002/bit.25949.